We RUN USA !!!

Running, Racing, Fitness and Health in the USA

Walking: Good for the legs and head. July 9, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — bigfootmarty @ 2:21 pm

 

WOW walking really does get me in shape.     I have followed the Jeff Galloway training program for a number of years. The balanced combination of walking and running in every workout has helped limit and even eliminate pain in my already damaged knees.  It also helped me do well in several marathons and halfs       

Now that my bad knee has really been bothering me I have embraced walking as the exercise of choice.  I lace up my running shoes and hit the road for a brisk walk and get the heart pumping and according to my HRM I am reaching a good training zone.       

This has focused my training as well.  I do some walks as I would train for races.  Up-Tempo walks,   hill work and some L.S.D. 

The side benefit of this is for my head;  getting out even with some pain ,  I have maintained a reasonable level of sanity by getting out and sweating on a regular basis.Image

 

Leave a Reply

