We RUN USA !!!

Running, Racing, Fitness and Health in the USA

Wednesday- Food and Fuel Report August 29, 2013

Filed under: Carbs,Food-Fuel,Injuries,Wednesday - Fuel — bigfootmarty @ 1:34 am
Tags: , ,

As a lifelong athlete I have always wondered and worried about getting enough to eat. I have had a huge appetite and my activity level burned fuel at an astounding rate. As I got to college I continued with huge diet and 6-7-8 meals a day.

During the college years I started paying attention to the quality of food as well as the quantity. More fruits and vegetables as well as properly prepared meats and breads. I finished college and became a runner and had to deal with a lot of pain and injury from many years of fun on the gridiron.

I became a runner after college and my legs reminded me of my history but I started to get smart . I adjusted my running and training to limit continued and ongoing injury and my diet to deal with inflammation and pain.

1. No salt- when I consumed too much salt I retained water in the damaged joints and had trouble with them.

2. Water- I made sure I consumed 48-60 ounces of water each day- in addition to what I drank before/during and after workouts. This kept the muscles supple sand joints lubricated.

3. Veggies juices and smoothies- Providing the proper vitamins and minerals for all body functions and replacing what is used up every day in life and in workouts.

4.Whole grains- brown rice, Oat groats, buckwheat, millet, farro and a few others have been added and become a solid part of carbo-fuel in the diet.

5. Sweet potatoes, potatoes, turnips, carrots and beets and veggie carbs

6. Stretching and self- massage easy workouts have limited additional pain and inflammation.

Favorite pre-race/long run dinner- steamed and stir fried cauliflower, carrots and potatoes with brown rice.

 

Leave a Reply

