We RUN USA !!!

Running, Racing, Fitness and Health in the USA

YOGA for RUNNERS – Flexibility, Balance, Breath July 19, 2014

 

As an athlete for most of my life- even before I joined little league I was part monkey, part circus performer and luckily made of rubber as I felt out of trees- off bicycles – and got up and did it again the next day. Organized sports arrived with LL baseball at 6 and I was at the plate , in the on deck circle or practicing for the next 45 years. One thing I learned was the value of proper warm and flexibility. With this I learned to stretch, how to stretch and what to stretch.

This flexibility and work ethic to remain flexible has limited the injuries I have sustained and prevented those that were unavoidable from being catastrophic.

I read many books on stretching and watched a few movies and videos (remember them)- now I can go to you tube or others and see any kind of stretching or exercise.

I later attended a yoga class ( at age 44) and realized that many of the stretches I practice are adapted from or are actual yoga “asanas” .

Poses– A sampling of poses that can and will be helpful for any and every runner. These are especially helpful for the “fun-runner” that hits the road 3-5 days a week and jumps in the occasional 5k/10k and maybe even a marathon BUT also works 40-50 hours and needs some help relaxing and recoveri ng from the workout and work.

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2014/06/26/yoga-for-runners_n_5507342.html?ir=Health+and+Fitness

 

               Some Yoga in video form-

                           Why do Yoga?

http://blogs.yogajournal.com/activeyogi/2013/06/more-reasons-athtletes-need-yoga.html

 

 

Leave a Reply

