We RUN USA !!!

Running, Racing, Fitness and Health in the USA

Superfoods ?? =Superfitness and Health August 5, 2017

I have been eating better and exercising quite seriously most of my life BUT the focus has gotten tighter in the last few months with a diagnosis of heart failure / atrial fibrillation .  The weight started coming off but a focused plan for the exercise and eating was needed to reach the ultimate weight.

I have written and continue to write about the workouts but this is a quick discussion of the food plan, with a focus on some of the so called “super” foods.

I have not focused on too many crazy foods but on foods that are great for the broad spectrum of nutrients inherent in them as well as additional benefits such as fiber, feelings of fullness and convenience(carry for lunch).

 

My SUPERFOODS include:

  • cabbage and brussels sprouts
  • turmeric, ginger and garlic
  • rolled oats
  • whole grains
  • legumes/beans
  • sweet potatoes
  • green tea
  • raw nuts and seeds
  • apple cider vinegar
  • citrus fruits
  • PLUS others…

Great list of “super”foods that is reasonable and easily purchased and available.

 

I don’t eat all of these daily or even weekly but I eat many of them on a regular basis as well as the foods above.  I feel full , my body functions well and I feel pretty healthy all the time.

I am maintaining a relatively stable calorie count along with a solid exercise regimen with significant cardio. If things continue as planned and currently rolling I will reach targets early in the new year.

 

@martyroddy

 

Leave a Reply

