We RUN USA !!!

Goals, Running, Life, Spirit, Fitness and Health in the USA

4 years since Last Marathon but another leg surgery since ….last race. February 23, 2014

I started running ( for fun and fitness) after many years of using it for football and basketball stamina building. During that time I endured several leg injuries and 8 leg surgeries (7 knee and one foot/ankle) and knew that reasonable exercise and running would be helpful in maintaining leg mobility and ultimately the legs I was born with.

I know of several 40-50 something former footballers with knee or hip replacements and i fully intend to keep what I have. I don’ta have all of the original equipment but I don’t want any more.

Image

Broken Fibula-Nov.2012 – plate and screws installed

I did have a small mishap with my leg and had it rebuilt/repaired at the end of 2011.   Feels pretty good   chines buffet afterwards.

Image

New hardware in ONE leg- will it throw me off balance?

Comfy with 5-7 miles now so I may target a 24 week safe prep plan.

Week one 4 days with long run of 5-6

Week 3 – 4 days w/ long run of 6-7

Week 5 Long run= 7-8,   Week 7 = 7-9, Week 9 = 7-9 again for safe keeping

Week 11 10-11,   Week 13 = 12 , Week 15 = 13-14 , Week 17 = 13-14 for Safekeeping again.

Week 19 = 15-16,  Week 21 = 18-19  , Week 23 = 18-19 and settle in for easy attempt at the race

During this program Even Weeks (2-4-6…)will be 4 days and weekend long run will be 6 until week 12  and 8 miles for week 12 until 20.

Following the Jeff Galloway plan of Running/Walking

 

Leave a comment